Confetti Head, Day one

Julia Child, watch out!

Julia Child, watch out!

My life has always been a potpourri. Never able to specialize, not a parent, and married more times than most people (five), I have spent a life of extreme variability.

Wonders:
I am the eternal child, interested in most everything. I still thrill at watching ants scurry about. I’ve always wondered why all the “cool” science stuff seems to be geared for children. Don’t adults like to explore, experience, and marvel at the wonders of the universe? I would love to go to Space Camp, for example. My husband is the same way, infinitely curious and interested in the world. The last time we went to San Diego’s Balboa Park museums, we ventured into a science room full of gadgets, “please touch me” thingies, videos, games, and more. We were having a great time! For a while we were the only ones there, but about 30 minutes later, we looked up at the now full room and discovered that we were the tallest people there! Well there were others, but they were patiently looking on as their offspring enjoyed the wonders of the universe. Laughing about it, we continued to enjoy the fun.

Odd Living

As for relationships (friends included), I tend to gather with other odd birds. Those who do not vote a straight Democratic or Republican ticket. I like thinkers, philosophers, poets, artists, and people who believe in UFOs, out-of-body travel, reincarnation, the possibility of being invisible, and other such odd-stream.

My last ex-husband, a poet, philosopher, geologist, writer, NLP developer, humorist extraordinaire, and Daniel Boone wannabe, lives with us. He and my husband are great friends, they even sing together on occasion, as a group they call The OM Boys.

I have heard that it’s unusual, to be close friends with an ex. I’m not sure why. David is a wonderful person. All of the things I liked about him are still there. We just didn’t make it as a unified, legally bonded couple. We laugh, go to restaurants that my husband hates, go camping with other odd duck friends, and explore the world together. We watch Jeopardy together, which my husband, A, also hates.

On the other hand, D & A watch sci-fi movies that I think are not worth 90 minutes of my time, go out and do Guy Stuff, whatever that is, and enjoy exploring the world of micro-brewery beer. It is a perfect trio. My two best friends and one of them is also the love of my life – A.

My husband, Allen, is 11 years younger than me. It is perfect because so am I. He keeps me balanced and urges me to push the few boundaries I have (or had) in the field of creativity and also reminds me sometimes that doing things on the edge of the law is not always a good idea. He is the most honest, ethical, kind, generous, and beautiful person I have ever known. He is a composer at heart and writes the most beautiful music. His vocal CD is coming out soon. He has three other, esoteric/spiritual CDs – AUM, Dancing to the Edge of the Universe, and Chakras Gone Wild. These aren’t the typical New Age, Woo Woo music to sooth and tranquilize like Prince Valium. No, these wake you up! Get the juices flowing! Tear down walls in the mind and heart! They are dynamic, powerful, and extremely unique. Shameless, commerce: available on Amazon.com or through MetaStudies.com.

Religion
I am not a religious person. I’m not an atheist. I guess I would be an agnostic. Completely in the dark about what is true about spirituality. Definitely not an “ist” of any kind that I can think of. Thought I was a Christian when younger, but experience and so much weirdness in my life led to research that convinced me that Christianity was definitely not for me. I’ve often wondered how the Christians I’ve known can poo poo the theories of metaphysics and other religions as being ridiculous and illogical when they accept their own equally ridiculous and illogical story of Jesus without question. How is virgin birth, walking on water, changing water into wine, resurrection, etc. any more logical than the Xenu story of Scientology? Both seem pretty far-fetched to me.

For now, I remain sure that there is something that goes beyond the physical existence, and that there is an inherent goodness in people that gets covered up by fears, and that there must be something in the design of the universe that goes beyond chance. What that is, I don’t know. I was a follower of the Indian guru, Sathya Sai Baba for a while. His existence and abilities still remain a mystery to me, but I’ve experienced too many questions to keep being a blind devotee. I dabbled in Hinduism, Buddhism, and other isms. I have been on the board of directors of a Church of a Religious Science, a member of Unity, White Eagle Lodge, Rosicrucians (both of them), Self Realization Fellowship, and more that escape my memory at the moment. All of these “isms” say they have the Truth. Not sure how this can be true since they are all are so different from each other. My conclusion at this time is that there is no TRUTH—only personal truth. Of all of them, I like Taoism the best. It’s clean, simple, open, and without pretense.

I studied Neuro-Linguistic Programming and am certified as a trainer. NLP makes more sense to me than anything else in the world. It is the foundation upon which I base most of my thinking. That is that I question everything and don’t completely buy into anything as being permanent and unchangeable. As one of my NLP teachers, Richard Bandler, once said, “It’s all made up anyway. You may as well believe what makes you feel good.” I am striving toward that point.

My theme song for now is:
“We may think that we think what we think, but what we don’t know is that we are what we think and what we think is not what we think we are thinking.”

Other Confetti Head Stuff:

I am also a gourmet cook, metaphysical trance channel, tai chi instructor (or used to be), yoga instructor (again used to be), astrologer, tarot reader and instructor, writer, Re Hu Tek practitioner, and a lover of tent camping. I cry in movies, write poetry. I am a digital artist, photographer, and so many other things – Confetti Head.

About anitaburns

Confetti Head: My life of change, and color, weirdness, and fun. From the colorful days of Hippie, to all night rocker parties, to married life, contemplation, meditation, and more. My life has been blessedly full and rich. Anita's Real Food: I have loved cooking since my first Easy Bake Oven when I was four. I bake, cook, invent, share, and eat. Enjoy my Real Food Blog. Astrology Learning and Secrets: LIttle-known facets or a deeper dive into the wonderful world of Astrology
This entry was posted in belief, Life adventures, LIfe Questions, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Confetti Head, Day one

  1. Ashley Maher says:

    BEAUTIFUL from top to bottom! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. I guess this means I should write something in my wordpress blog. Even though we’ve known each other very slightly for decades, I didn’t realize you were a long lost thought-sister.

    Fun: You’d love the Exploratorium in San Francisco. It’s another place to go when most of the children are in school so you can play without them pointing at you.

    I only have the one husband to live with. I think I’m missing out, especially if one of them likes to cook and clean!

    I always say I’m not a theist. (I used to say I was a Zen athiest, but that needed too much explaining.)

    I don’t believe in UFOs, ghosts, etc., but I don’t disbelieve either. Science dogmatically refuses to accept anything it can’t explain, just as blindly as any other hard-set belief system. (Though of course there are plenty of people in each system that don’t fall into the straight and narrow.)

    I know reiki works even though it seems it shouldn’t. I know alternative health methods work even though the mainstream makes fun. Sure, maybe I think I disbelieve, but it’s really my subconscious making it work. . . But really, our cats have no preconceived notions about that and it works on them.

    And I’m babbling. Anyway, I’m glad to get to know you better, and I’ll answer that other private note soon!
    T

    Like

    • anitaburns says:

      Good to get to know you better too. Babbling is underrated. I think it’s the best. I’ve been to the Exploratorium but not for many years. I used to live in Vallejo, then Napa before I decided to leave husband number one (but not #1). HIs family practically owned Napa, so it was back to So Cal to live with mom, get a job and go to college. I still love to visit SF whenever I can.

      As for belief, even if I say I don’t believe in anything, I still am professing a belief that I don’t believe. Beliefs are fascinating, at least I believe they are. 8-0

      Like

      • My uncle lived in Vallejo, my grandmother in Daly City.

        🙂 I should say I’ve never been able to believe in anything. My mother said I told her there was no Santa sometime in my second year. I don’t recall, but I remember being a little older and being positive the adults all believed in the jolly old elf, so I got up and rang sleigh bells in the middle of the night. And when all my fiends had invisible friends, I tried, but I just couldn’t buy it.

        However, telling stories about unseen things, well, woof! I used to dig mounds of dirt in the backyard and pour red poster paint on them and tell the kids next door I thought someone had been murdered. Scared them silly. (Turned out the parents did complain, but my mom never told me. She was amused.)

        I never experienced anything inexplicable until I was about twenty. And boy am I glad it happened — it kept my mind open to most everything. (On the url below, click ‘Tamara’s True Tales’ for that story and a couple others. They’re unvarnished;-)

        Yes, very busy. Contracted for a book on southern California hauntings for publication next year. I’m trying to manage our (normal) business and that, I’m bad at. What the heck are ‘files’ anyway? Wait, I know: sleeping pills.

        Like

      • anitaburns says:

        Interesting. Sounds like we have a lot in common, except that my weirdness began around age 3 and has continued ever since. First “ghost” I remember seeing was in our living room when I was about 4. I talked to him like a “live” person. My mother could also see him but wasn’t amused. She shooed him out. I still see them just about everywhere. Good luck with your book. Let me know when it is published?

        THanks,

        Anita

        Like

  3. Paveena says:

    Love the blog. I have experiance similar situation with lots of stuffs you mention.

    Like

  4. Shanti Remes says:

    Yahooo…. you live your live. Love it.

    Like

    • anitaburns says:

      Everybody can. They just have to make important enough. Thanks. I haven’t heard from you in a while so I’m guessing that you are working things out?

      Like

  5. Ralf Weber says:

    Great Blog Anita, welcome to the digital world of “The world needs to hear from me” (my view on blogging, that’s why have like 20 of them 🙂 )

    Like

  6. Pam Nollkamper says:

    Hi Anita,

    A blog! How great and creative of you! I don’t know how you find the time for a blog with all you do.

    You and I are a lot alike. I’ve felt a “kinship” with you and feel that we have similar interests and experiences – although I’ve only had 2 husbands and my ex does not live with us (thank God). Your life is varied and interesting and I can truly feel your vibrant love of life. I, too, got excited at the kid’s museum in Balboa Park and spent the entire day there once. Loved it! Especially the nails- I made all kinds of neat pictures with the nails!

    Like you, I have been a seeker of truth and have sampled most of the religious philosophies searching for the “ultimate” Truth (with a capital T). Only to find out that the Ultimate Truth does not exist as I had imagined it. So — I’m still learning. But, I’m enjoying the journey very much and enjoy learning new spiritual concepts.

    Unlike you, I am a lousy cook and dislike housework. I have a housekeeper and my husband helps out with the cooking so I’m lucky in that regard. My husband is a great cook, but I normally make dinner for us.

    I was raised in Fullerton and spent the first 54 years of my life living on the same street. When I married my first husband at 19, I moved across the street from my folks and stayed there for 45 years. Talk about roots! My son went to the same schools I did and had some of the same teachers. When I was a kid growing up there, the area was considered “the sticks” and my folks had a problem finding a baby sitter for my sister and I. I remember the area was surrounded by orange groves, which we loved. Those orange groves are now homes and businesses on Euclid Avenue. I saw a lot of changes.

    Living on the same street for so long is probably why I love to travel so much and took a year off to just travel in 1990. Went all over the world. I’ve traveled a lot and I’ve had a lot of really neat travel experiences that I’d lilke to share with you sometime. I’d like to hear about yours, too!

    I love your term “confetti head.” Confetti is cheerful and playful and fun. What a great description of a person whose head is full of fun things. This is a great way to get to know each other better!

    Pam

    Like

    • anitaburns says:

      HI Pam,
      Thanks for reading. I’m going to have fun with this. I’ve also felt a kinship with you. Out of all of the people who currently attend my ‘stuff’ I always feel that you “get it.” So many don’t. Wonderful that you also liked the kid’s museum. Sometimes I think I’m all alone out there in curiousland. Well, there’s Allen too, but I’m sure he wouldn’t be doing these things if I didn’t urge him on. David’s that way too, really open and curious about life. He’s a kid at heart too.

      I also hate housework. As soon as I can, I’ll have a housekeeper again. It’s just the uphill battle with my mother that stops us. In the meantime, the house gets cleaned when it gets cleaned. I’ve become a little more relaxed about it. I don’t break out in hives if the trash isn’t emptied, RIGHT AWAY, for instance.

      I’ve often wondered what it would be like to have put down roots somewhere. I’ve moved around so much that I never become attached to any one place or home. It’s freeing in a way, but, as I said, I ponder what it would be like, how I would be different If I had lived my life in my home town of Silver City, New Mexico, or settled in Oklahoma (I lived there as a small child), or even Spokane, Washington. We came to CA when I was 8. Maybe I’ll blog about that today.

      Thanks again for you comments. Maybe, when we both have some time, we could, like, you know, do lunch?

      Anita

      Anita

      Like

  7. Judy R says:

    Humm, Think I need to meet you. I’ve been reading your website for sometime now, just haven’t made that “move”.

    Think I’m trying to figure out what my purpose is here……………….don’t even want to be here.

    Still, I find you very interesting….

    Like

    • anitaburns says:

      Hi Judy – would love to meet you too. I understand about not wanting to be here. I feel that way myself sometime. But, then, where would I go where I wouldn’t just take my baggage with me. No, for me it’s better to work on unloading my fool’s satchel here first so I can really enjoy myself when I’m “somewhere else.” I’m dealing with baggage at this very moment. I can’t synch my new Bluetooth because it is asking for a passkey that I have no memory of. Alas. 🙂

      Like

  8. Peggy Daugherty says:

    Hi Anita,
    We have not met yet, but I know of your classes as seminars through Marisa’s emails.

    Your blog facinated me. I have never blogged, or even responded to a blog, I am a virgin at this sort of technology.

    I felt so connected to your story, as if you were writing about my life at times. I have gone through life like a square peg in a round hole, not quite fitting in becasue of my uniqueness. I laughingly always explain to people that I have one foot off the ground, I am in flight most of the time. I moved four times in one year, I have you beat there. I told someone the other day who still lives in the same town he was born in, doing the same job for 30 years, that I have lived two lifetimes to his one. My entire family has seen me as irresponsible (for moving and changing jobs so much), and after complaining about my family’s low opinion of me to a therapist friend; she told me something that really hit home and comforted my free spirit. She told me that Hellen Keller once said, “That life is an adventure or nothing at all.” Yay, that is what I am, an adventurist, I am in constant amazement about life. I am seeking higher knowledge and spirituality. The problem about living this life in the way that I have, I have encountered so much loss along the way. I have always had people drawn to me, as if I had a neon sign flashing on my forehead saying, “Sit down and tell me of your troubles.” Even over the telephone paying a bill, by the time I get off the call, I have heard all about someone’s life and their heartaches or troubles. Maybe there is some purpose in that I don’t know.
    I just know that it has taken my entire lifetime (I’m 58) to figure out who I am and feeling somewhat comfortable in my own skin. That is until I openly talk about my experiences I’ve had with my mother who died in 2000 or my connection to my guide. Most people are so uncomfortable and uneasy about the other side and the spirit world. That is why I love connecting with others who get it and is open to our universal mysteries.
    Well, I shall leave this with you. Thanks for telling your story, I really enjoyed reading about you life.
    P.S. Thank you for for opening up the minds of others in what you do, it is so important that people have the knowledge you teach.

    Like

    • anitaburns says:

      Hi Peggy – Thanks for your comments. I relate to your story too. You might want to read today’s entry – it’s a lot about roots, family, and being free. Thanks for sharing.

      Anita

      Like

  9. mmmarty says:

    wow! i came across your blog randomly and i find you fascinating! Believe me you’re not the only person on the net who rambles random thoughts ^^ Looking forward to reading more of your stuff! You say you write poetry – will you be posting any of it on this blog?

    🙂
    Marty

    Like

    • anitaburns says:

      Hi Marty. Glad you like my blog. It is definitely therapeutic to write. I might share some of my poetry. I don’t have a whole lot of it though. It sometimes just comes to me and I write it down.

      Thanks,

      Anita

      Like

      • mmmarty says:

        Yeah, likewise with me. Writing poetry online is also therapeutic, although I’ve found it a bit daunting to let my work be criticised by anyone who wants to!

        All the best,
        Marty 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

