Alone on a Raft on a Choppy Sea

choppy seawith raftAs some of you already know, I attend a “church” called Common Ground. It isn’t limited to any Christian ideal. I wouldn’t go if it was. It is an open meeting place for all things spiritual. When I first started going, it was because my mother wouldn’t go alone and I thought that she needed to be out of the house and around like-minded people. For those who don’t know, my mother has early stages Alzheimer’s. Socializing is one of the things that helps keep it from progressing rapidly. Anyway, I found that I liked going. I like many people I have met there, so I keep going and am becoming more involved.

Why am I blogging about this? Perhaps because so many of my clients and students live in a spiritual wasteland. They feel alone, isolated, floating on a raft in a choppy sea. Many come to my classes, not really to learn, but to be around others that they feel emotionally and spiritually safe with. I’m happy that I can provide a place for that to happen and I will continue to do so. But, I also want to let everyone who needs to hear,  that there are places like Common Ground that aren’t hellfire and brimstone sermons, that provide spiritual and emotional support for those who march to a different drummer than their secular or religious neighbors. If you are one of the spiritually abandoned or adrift souls, I say, find a place like Common Ground, or come to Common Ground.

These thoughts came to me as I was sitting in the Women’s Wisdom Circle on Monday. This is a monthly meeting where we share innermost thoughts and feelings and discuss personal growth issues. I take my mother to it. Many of the women at our last meeting related that Common Ground was their refuge, their safe haven, and that it changed their lives. I thought that too many disenchanted spiritual souls don’t know these places exist. They think they have to live a lie or be somehow disenfranchised from their family and friends.

Don’t get me wrong. I am not advocating that you to stop going to classes and workshops, those are powerful and valuable for meeting people and awakening spiritually. But also going to a place like Common Ground, where all voices are heard and judgement is left at the door as much as humanly possible, is a healing experience and an empowering one.

So why do I go? I am not disenchanted, nor do I feel alone, adrift, or without spiritual support. My world is spiritual metaphysics. That’s how I live my life. That’s how I make my living. I have studied widely and experienced a vast world of spirituality from ancient to modern. My head is full of knowledge about spiritual traditions, sacred texts, history, and practices from Wicca to Siddha, from Jungian psychology to NLP. If you go to my website and read my bio, you’ll see how much I have been able to pack into my not so short life.

My family and friends are all as woo woo as me, some even more. So why do I go to services to hear things that I am already intimately familiar with? Perhaps I go to Common Ground because it is a place where I can be one of the group and not the leader of the group. It is a place where I can relax and be a part of something instead of the head of something. When there is leadership needed, they all look to Reverend Danell and not to me. This is a new experience for me and I am enjoying the hell out of it as a bit of a recess from my work.

Please understand, though, that I love what I do as a spiritual metaphysical teacher, writer, intuitive, reader, healer, and mentor. I love helping people overcome their troubles, obstacles, and fears. Nothing gives me more joy than to help others discover their true, divine self and to let go of troubles, sorrow, and fear. Empowering others is what I do. It is my soul’s calling. And, if called upon to take on that role at Common Ground, I would gladly accept. But, it will always be a place where I can let down that role and share and be a part of the whole. It is a balancer in my life and I am grateful that I was led there. Perhaps kicking and screaming, but led nevertheless.

Oh sure, there are times when something is said in the service that I strongly disagree with, or that I know is not factually true.Not because of any attempt at deception, but because certain things it seems were taken at face value rather than investigated or questioned. There are times when non-English words are mispronounced, but I hold my tongue. Letting go of being such a perfectionist prig is one of my life lessons. It’s a hard one and these things scream at me to “correct” the mistake, but spirit tells me to shut the fuck up and let it be. It doesn’t matter whether I-Ching is pronounced eeee-ching (correct) or eye-ching (Americanized). It doesn’t matter that when the minister says, “We all know” such and such, that often I have a totally different belief or way of thinking about it. It is totally unimportant that some things are said or alluded to that are opposite of my way of thinking. The core message is that we are all on a journey toward betterment and that there are a multitude of paths to take us there.

Any leader of an organization or church such as Common Ground has to walk a fine line of meeting expectations and the belief maps of a great many people. I think Reverend Danell does a wonderful job with a tough situation. I understand this, I used to be in her shoes. And, although we don’t agree on the finer points sometimes, I respect and admire her for what she does and how she does it.

So, back to my original point. If you are feeling lost or alone, or even if you are beginning to believe the horse pucky that your family or co-workers are feeding you about how you are wrong, run, don’t walk, to the nearest place like Common Ground that you can find. Okay, I know that there are places where these things are, as my grandfather used to say, as rare as hen’s teeth. But there are, in nearly every place in the world, gatherings, classes, workshops, New Age stores, and such that can lead you to gathering with like-minded people. Or start your own. If you want tips on how to do this, let me know. I would be happy to share.

In Sanskrit (ancient language of India), gathering with spiritually like-minded people is called Satsang. It is considered vital to spiritual and personal growth. We all need that nurturing and life-affirming company of others who know that we are not crazy or wrong.

Finding satsang is healing, and life transforming. Any organized religion, whether Buddhist, Christian, or the Church of Monday Night Football, will have a set or rules and beliefs that you MUST adhere to in order to continue being a part of the ‘fold.” If you don’t believe, or if you break the rules, you are out or they try to help you “see the light.” With spiritual metaphysics, there are often loose sets of ideas rather than rules. There is a wider experience of life allowed. Find your place, your teachers, your friends and relax in your own transformative path toward what many in spiritual metaphysics call, the light of divine knowledge.

End of soapbox. I just had to get this off my chest. More and crazier stuff to come. I would love to hear about you and your experiences.

Thanks for listening,
Anita

 

About anitaburns

Confetti Head: My life of change, and color, weirdness, and fun. From the colorful days of Hippie, to all night rocker parties, to married life, contemplation, meditation, and more. My life has been blessedly full and rich. Anita's Real Food: I have loved cooking since my first Easy Bake Oven when I was four. I bake, cook, invent, share, and eat. Enjoy my Real Food Blog. Astrology Learning and Secrets: LIttle-known facets or a deeper dive into the wonderful world of Astrology
This entry was posted in belief, Life adventures, LIfe Questions, Religion, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Alone on a Raft on a Choppy Sea

  1. Wonderful post, Anita. I too am glad that you and your mom joined us at Common Ground. I especially love having you be part of our Writers’ Circle!! I agree with much of what you said. I was one of those people who in many ways “hid” my true beliefs on things until I found Common Ground. It is a lovely place filled with such openness. Oh, and thank you for putting up with my mispronunciation of things 🙂

    Like

    • anitaburns says:

      Hi Briana. Thanks for your comment. BTW. I wasn’t thinking about you when I made the comment about mispronouncing things. Anyway, one of my “spiritual” lessons, is to let go of caring who pronounces what and how.

      Thanks Again.

      Anita

      Like

  2. susan anne smith says:

    I loved reading your blog! I am glad someone knows how to pronounce difficult words correctly. I need all the help I can get!!! I am so glad you are at Common Ground Corona!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

